Past Art Fair

ART HK 12

17 May - 20 May  |  2012
Li ShanJu MingChao Chung-hsiangChu Teh-chunT’ang HaywenTing WalasseZao Wou-ki
Introduction
At Art HK 12 this May, Alisan Fine Arts will be showcasing six important Chinese artists, including well known artists Zao Wou-ki, Chu Teh-chun, Chao Chung-hsiang, Walasse Ting, T'ang Haywen and Taiwan sculptor Ju Ming. These artists, except for Ju Ming, are part of the first generation of Chinese artists to leave the mainland in the 1940s and 50s and settle overseas to further their artistic talent and for various reasons chose not to return to China. Their works while rooted in Chinese tradition have been influenced by the West and show a distinct style of their own. For both Zao and Chu we will show works on canvas as well as prints. For Chao, T'ang and Ting we will show works on paper and as for Ju Ming we will include both bronzes and wood sculptures from his well known Tai Chi series.
In addition, we will display early works by Yu You Han and Li Shan, two key Shanghainese Political Pop artists. These early abstract oils are rarely seen in the market.

Zao Wou-ki (born 1921 Beijing China) and Chu Teh-chun (born 1920 Jiangsu China), both Chinese-French artists currently living in Paris, were students of Lin Fengmian, (1900-1991) the pioneer of modern Chinese painting. Zao and Chu are deeply rooted in Chinese ink art since their school days at the National College of Art in Hangzhou in 1935. They left for Paris in 1948 and 1955 respectively and then became the exponents of Lyrical Abstraction in oil painting after being inspired by Western art. Their glowing and colourful oil on canvas are world renown and are collected by major museums around the world. Alisan Fine Arts is the first gallery in Hong Kong to exhibit Zao’s works on canvas and paper in 1993, then in 1996, 1999, 2003 and 2009. For Chu Teh-chun, the gallery held a solo exhibition in 1999 and another one at the Museum of Hong Kong University in 2004.
Chinese-French artist, T’ang Haywen (1927 Fujian China - 1991 Paris) also left China for Paris in 1948 and enrolled at the l’Ecole des Beaux Arts where Chinese classmates included Zao Wou-ki and Chu Teh-chun. Trained in calligraphy during his childhood, his abstract ink and watercolour paintings of nature are soft and spiritual yet full of energy and vitality. T'ang has had various exhibitions in Europe, Canada and USA. Since his death in 1991, his name has been gaining recognition in Asia. In 1998, Alisan Fine Arts organized T’ang’s first solo exhibition in Hong Kong and in 2005, a group exhibition of his works for French May Festival at the Museum of University of Hong Kong. His works are collected by numerous museums in France including Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris, Musee Cernuschi, Musée National des Arts Asiatiques-Guimet, Musée de Pontoise, Museum of Contemporary Art, Nice, and Menil Foundation, Houston, USA.
Chao Chung-hsiang (1910 Henan China-1991 Taiwan) and Walasse Ting (1929 Wuxi China-2010 New York), both spent much of their artistic career in New York. Their works display the aesthetic beauty of Chinese ink brush stroke on rice paper yet at the same time reflect a Western influence with the bold use of acrylic colours. Chao's subjects include flowers, fish, birds, Yin-Yang, the cosmos and abstraction, while Ting favours women and flowers. Like Zao and Chu, Chao was also a student of Lin Fengmian’s while studying at the National College of Art in Hangzhou. Walasse Ting on the other hand studied briefly at the Shanghai Art Academy in 1948. In 1958, they both left for New York. Alisan Fine Arts has organized four major solo exhibitions for Chao Chung-hsiang since 1992, including two travelling shows: at the Westlake Art Museum, Hangzhou, Hong Kong Arts Centre, Singapore 21 Gallery in 1999; and at the National Art Museum of China, Beijing; Shanghai Art Museum; Museum of History, Taipei; Enrico Navarra Gallery, Paris and Hong Kong Arts Centre in 2004. Our first show in Hong King for Walasse Ting was in 1986, and since then we have held numerous solo exhibitions for him, including the latest one in 2010 at the Hong Kong Arts Centre. His works were also shown at ART HK 10.
Ju Ming (born 1938 Miaoli Taiwan, currently lives in Taiwan) is an established Chinese sculptor whose strong and fluid “Taichi Series” has gained international acclaim. He started working as a master craftsman in 1958, then in 1968 studied under famous Taiwan sculptor, Yang Yu-yu (1926-1997). In 1974, he began sculpting a series of works based on Tai Chi, a subject he feels merges the human spirit with nature. In 1999, he built the Ju Ming Museum in Taiwan to showcase his works.

Yu You Han (born 1943, Shanghai China) was a major figure in the Shanghai Minimalist movement in the mid 1980s and has been a strong influence on the Chinese avant-garde art scene ever since. He graduated from the Central Institute of Technology in Beijing in 1970 and has been teaching at the Shanghai Institute of Industrial Arts since 1973. Although better known for his political pop Mao series, he began painting abstract art in the 1980s after visiting a Zao Wou-ki exhibition in Hangzhou and an abstract art exhibition organized by the Boston Museum of Fine Arts in China in 1985. Inspired by what he saw, he began to paint the “Circle” series for the next six years, where he merged Chinese philosophy with Western abstract art. On exhibit will be “Red & Yellow” (dated 1990) a work that belongs to Yu’s “Coloured Circle” series. Yu has had numerous exhibitions around the world including France, Italy, UK, Germany, Portugal, Czech Republic, Sweden, Spain, Brazil, Australia and China.
Li Shan (born 1942 Heilongjiang, currently living in Shanghai) is internationally known for his 1980s “Rouge Empire” and 1990s “Political Pop” but few have seen his early works. For our show we will be showcasing rarely displayed early paintings from a series known as “Origins” (from 1976). This series pays homage to the Northern Chinese landscapes and to the simple life of its people and countryside. Echoing the Primitivism and Expressionism of a Douanier Rousseau or a Pablo Picasso, they reflect the artist’s fascination for ancient cultures, such as the Hemudu rock paintings, and for the primitive life of Heilongjiang’s nomadic tribes. From 1963 to 1968, Li Shan studied at the Heilongjiang University and at the Shanghai Academy of Drama in China. From 1985 to 1994 he was a lecturer at the Art Research Institute, Shanghai Academy of Drama. In 1987, Alisan Fine Arts held a monumental group show for 14 Shanghainese Artists at the Hong Kong Arts Centre and Li Shan was one of the selected artists. We then held a solo show for Li at Hong Kong Arts Centre in 1994, and then at the gallery in 2000. Since 1984 he has had around 50 exhibitions in different countries such as USA, UK, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Japan and China. His artworks are collected by Shenzhen Art Museum and Heilongjiang Art Gallery, China and private collectors in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Australia, Germany, UK and USA.

過去 藝術博覽會

香港國際藝術展 12

05月17日 - 05月20日  |  2012
趙春翔朱德群朱銘李山丁雄泉曾海文趙無極
簡介
今年5月,藝倡畫廊將參與香港國際藝術展12,展出趙無極、朱德群、趙春翔、丁雄泉、曾海文、朱銘等六位藝術大師的傑作。這六位大師無不名噪寰宇,除朱銘是台灣雕塑家外,其餘五位均來自中國內地,是上世紀四五十年代首批負笈海外鑽研畫藝的中國畫家,其後則因種種原因一直旅居外地。他們的作品紮根中國傳統,卻又深受西方影響,因而形成別具一幟的畫風。是次展出的作品約二十五件,包括趙無極與朱德群的布本油畫及版畫,趙春翔、丁雄泉、曾海文的紙本作品,而朱銘則有著名的《太極》系列銅雕與木雕。
此外,同場展出的,還有上海政治波普藝術的領軍人物余友涵及李山的早期抽象油畫,市面難得一見。
趙無極(1921年北京生)與朱德群(1920年江蘇生),現時雙雙旅居法國,早年同為現代中國畫先鋒畫家林風眠(1900-1991)的學生。1935年,兩人入讀國立杭州藝術專科學校,就此奠下雄健的中國水墨根基。1948及1955年,兩人先後前赴巴黎,在西方藝術的濃厚氛圍中,成為抒情抽象油畫的代表人物。他們的作品色彩瑰麗奪目,舉世知名,且見諸世界各大美術博物館的珍藏。1993年,藝倡畫廊率先於香港展出趙無極布本及紙本作品,其後並於1996、1999、2003及2009年續為這位名家舉辦多次畫展。至於由藝倡畫廊主辦的朱德群展覽,除1999年的個展外,另有2004假香港大學美術博物館舉行的個展。
華裔法國畫家曾海文(1927年福建生、1991年巴黎卒),1948年前赴巴黎,入讀巴黎美術學院(l’Ecole des Beaux Arts),與趙無極、朱德群份屬同窗。由於少時勤習書法有功,曾海文的抽象水墨及水彩風景畫,柔美出塵,卻又筆力雄奇,曾多次於歐洲、加拿大、美國等地展出。自1991年身故以來,曾海文在亞洲名聲日隆。1998年,倡藝畫廊為曾海文舉辦首個香港個展,其後又配合“法國五月”藝術節,於2005年假香港大學美術博物館為他舉行群展。曾海文的作品廣為法國多所美術博物館收藏,其中包括巴黎市立現代美術館(Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris)、巴黎市賽努奇博物館(Musee Cernuschi)、吉美國立亞洲藝術博物館(Musée National des Arts Asiatiques-Guimet)、龐圖瓦滋美術館(Musée de Pontoise)、尼斯當代美術館(Museum of Contemporary Art),至於美國方面,則可見諸休斯頓梅尼爾基金會(Menil Foundation)。
趙春翔(1910年河南生、1991年台灣卒)與丁雄泉(1929年無錫生、2010年紐約卒)畢生長居紐約創作,作品一方面富於宣紙水墨的流麗,另一方面則大膽起用艷麗的壓克力顏料,可謂中西合璧。趙春翔的題材不乏花卉魚鳥、陰陽宇宙,以至抽象形體,而丁雄泉則偏愛描繪女子與花卉。兩人也如趙無極與朱德群一般,早年於國立杭州藝術專科學校,隨林風眠習畫。丁雄泉更於1948年一度於上海美術專科學校修讀,後於1958年,與趙春翔各自前赴紐約。自1992年以來,藝倡畫廊曾四度為趙春翔舉辦大型個人展覽,其中1999年及2004年的兩次,更是巡迴展覽,前者先後於浙江西湖美術館、香港藝術中心及新加坡Singapore 21畫廊展出,後者則於北京的中國美術館、上海美術館、台北國立歴史博物館、巴黎Enrico Navarra畫廊及香港藝術中心展出。藝倡畫廊為丁雄泉舉辦的香港展覽,於1986年舉行,其後續有多次展覽,最近期的要算2010年假香港藝術中心舉行的展覽。此外,丁雄泉的作品亦曾參展香港國際藝術展11。
朱銘(1938年台灣苗粟生,現居台灣),知名雕塑家,多年前因柔中帶剛的《太極》系列而蜚聲國際。1958年,朱銘踏足社會,從事工藝,後於1968年,拜於台灣雕塑家楊英風(1926-1997)門下。1974年,開始以天人合一的太極為創作題材。1999年,於台灣建立朱銘美術館,展出作品。
余友涵(1943年上海生),上世紀八十年代上海極簡運動的代表人物,自此一直在中國前衛藝壇享有舉足輕重的地位。1970年,余友涵畢業於北京中央工藝美術學院,自1973年起,一直任教於上海工藝美術學校,早年以政治波普繪畫《毛澤東》系列聲名鵲起。八十年代,趙無極的作品於杭州展出,波士頓美術館亦於1985年於中國展出抽象繪畫,讓余友涵深受啟發,遂於其後六年間,致力創作《圓》系列,以圖將中國哲學思想與西方抽象藝術共冶一爐。是次展出的《紅與黃》(1990年作),即屬於《彩圓》系列。余友涵的作品曾多次於世界各地展出,包括法國、意大利、英國、德國、葡萄牙、捷克、瑞典、西班牙、巴西、澳洲、中國等。
李山(1942年黑龍江生,現居上海),以上世紀八十年代的“胭脂帝國”及九十年代的“政治波普”繪畫聞名中外,但早期作品卻難得一見。是次展出的作品則正好來自他早年的《初始》系列(始於1976年),旨在歌頌華北風貌與簡樸農村生活。系列中的作品,與盧梭(Douanier Rousseau)、畢卡索(Pablo Picasso)等原始主義與表現主義兩相呼應,足見作者熱愛河姆渡石刻、黑龍江遊牧民族等古老文明。1963至1968年,李山先後於黑龍江大學及上海戲劇學院攻讀。1985至1994,擔任上海戲劇學院藝術研究院講師。1987年,藝倡畫廊集合共14名上海藝術家的作品,假香港藝術中心舉行大型群展,李山正是參展畫家之一。其後,藝倡畫廊為李山舉行個展,1994年假香港藝術中心展出,2000年則於藝倡畫廊展出。由1984年至今,李山共舉行約50個展覽,地點遍及美國、英國、德國、意大利、瑞士、日本、中國等,作品現已納入深圳美術館及黑龍江省美術館館藏,並且廣為中港台、澳洲、德國、英國及美國等地的私人藏家收藏。