Hung Keung

1970 Kunming, Yunnan, China

Introduction

Hong Kong-based Hung Keung is known for his interactive installations that integrate film, video and digital new media with classical Chinese themes of philosophy, art and literature. One of his best known interactive projects Dao Gives Birth to One (2009–2012) examined and visualized the relationship between human beings and the Daoist notion of “ten thousand things”. Through his innovative and completely original interactive strategies, Hung creates novel ways for audiences to experience and engage with traditional themes and concepts.

Everywhere is the artist’s interpretation of “three distances” (三遠)—the three ways Chinese artists traditionally expressed distance in landscape painting—as well as the concept of “perceiving details from a macroscopic perspective” (以大觀小). Hung has expanded the viewing experience to the four-dimensional. Viewers are engaged within a virtual scene, where hundreds of Chinese characters in the form of radicals are projected on the wall and move in constant motion, clustering around moving objects. The characters include the words for human being, power, success, which according to the artist, represent a blessing from him to the city where he grew up. The new work from this series is on display at Hong Kong Palace Museum's exhibition From Dawn to Dusk: Life in the Forbidden City in 2022-23.

Hung Keung received his BA from the Fine Arts department of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, MA in film and video from Central Saint Martins, London, and PhD from Zurich University of the Arts and University of Plymouth, UK, in digital media and Chinese philosophy. He is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Cultural and Creative Arts at the Education University of Hong Kong.

Alisan Fine Arts has been included his works in one of the gallery's landmark exhibitions A Legacy of Ink: Lui Shou-Kwan 40 Years On at Hong Kong Arts Centre in 2015, and POP ROCK in 2021 is our second time working with the artist. His work is included in the inaugural exhibition of Hong Kong Palace Museum No Boundaries: Reinterpreting Palace Museum Culture (Gallery 7) in 2022-2023.

洪強

1970 昆明, 雲南, 中國

簡介

居住香港的洪強以創作將電影、錄像和新媒體與中國古典哲學、藝術和文學主題相結合的互動裝置而聞名。他最著名的互動項目之一“道生一”(2009-2012)檢視並呈現了人與道家“萬物”觀念之間的關係。通過他的創新和原創的互動構思,洪氏為觀眾創造了新的方式來體驗和參與傳統的主題和概念。

在作品 "無處不在" 是藝術家對三遠"——傳統上中國畫家在山水畫中表達距離的三種方式——以及對理念以大觀小的詮釋。洪氏擴闊了觀看體驗至四維空間,令觀眾置身於一個虛擬場景,其中數百個被拆解的漢字投射在牆壁上,它們不斷地移動、聚合又散開。採用的文字包括人、力、成功。藝術家希望藉此為他從小生活的城市送上祝福。此系列的新作於2022-23年香港故宮文化博物院 "紫禁一日: 清代宮廷生活" 展出。


洪強在香港中文大學藝術系獲學士學位,在倫敦中央聖馬丁學院獲電影和錄像碩士學位,在蘇黎世藝術大學和英國普利茅斯大學獲得數位媒體和中國哲學博士學位。現為香港教育大學文化創意藝術系副教授。

藝倡畫廊於2015年香港藝術中心及香港仔空間舉行畫廊標誌性展覽之一的「呂壽琨水墨傳奇四十年」展出洪氏的裝置藝術,並於2021年「石頭記」第二次與他合作。他的作品展出於2022至2023年香港故宮博物館開館展「古今無界:故宮文化再詮釋」(展廳七)。