Past Exhibition

New Works by Luo Qi

05 Dec - 31 Dec  |  2009
Luo Qi
Alisan Fine Arts will be holding a second solo exhibition for Hangzhou abstract artist, Luo Qi at our new location in Aberdeen (Room 2305 Hing Wai Centre, No.7 Tin Wan Praya Road, Aberdeen, Hong Kong) from 5-31 December 2009. Our first show for Luo Qi was in 2006 as part of the French May Festival in Hong Kong. This new exhibition consists of 10 works, including 6 that are part of his most recent oil series “Calligraphy-painting”(2007-08) and ink series “Poetry”(2007). Fusing both tradition and modernity, the colour field “Calligraphy-painting” consists of pure red with “Luo Qi script” which is transformed from the ancient seal script, in which he combines calligraphic line, colour, shape and composition to create a graphic, geometric expression. It seems that Luo has abandoned the traditional calligraphic traces but, in fact, this is typical of his calligraphy-painting. His new ink series “Poetry” are clothes shaped paintings in ink and colour consisting of simple lines and colour blocks. They are inspired by Luo’s participation in Paris Fashion Week Autumn/Winter 2008/09 at the Louvre in France. His new ink works were exhibited at the Cleveland Public Library, Ohio, USA in August 2008. The open day of our show is on 5 December 2009 from 2pm to 6pm. After the open day, the exhibition will continue through 31 December 2009 but viewing will be by appointment only.

Luo Qi (born 1960, Hangzhou, China) is the founder and a leading figure of the post-modern calligraphy movement known as Calligraphyism in mainland China during the 1980s. He belongs to a group of Chinese artists who attempt to transform Chinese calligraphy into a contemporary idiom, challenging its aesthetic style and semantic function. A graduate from China Academy of Art in 1986 Luo has exhibited in major exhibitions in China and overseas - Italy, Germany, France, Luxembourg, USA, Japan, Korea, Thailand, etc., including the hugely successful exhibition “Brushed Voices: Calligraphy in Contemporary China” at Columbia University, New York in 1998. In addition, he published A Collection of Essays on Calligraphyism- A Conceptual Art, China, 2001. “Calligraphyism seeks to alter the basic structure of the characters themselves, even if they can no longer be read as writing. Calligraphy in this sense becomes pure abstract art.” Zhang Yiguo (Brushed Voices, Calligraphy in Contemporary China, USA, 1998, P.56)

Exemplifying both traditional and contemporary styles, Luo manipulates the form and structure of characters, and uses traditional brushstrokes to create non-semantic forms. By painting in bold, bright colours, borrowing from Pop Art styles, he breaks away from traditional calligraphy and incorporates a strong modern, abstract element reminiscent of Franz Kline or Robert Motherwell. To the Chinese eye, his paintings appear Western, but to the Western eye, they appear unmistakably Chinese.

Luo has been awarded “Painting Award” of the 3rd Florence International Contemporary Art Biennial, Italy, 2001, “Contemporary International Art Award” of the Fujisan International Ink Painting Exhibition, Japan, and “Nomination” of the 1st Ten Years: Chinese Contemporary Art Documentary Exhibition, China, 2004. His works have been collected by Yale University Gallery; Rubin-Frankel Gallery of Boston University; Cleveland Public Library, USA, Consul General of France in Hong Kong, Malm Modern Art Museum, Sweden, National Art Gallery, Luxembourg, Asia-Pacific International Biennial Art Exhibition, Italy, Eastern Art Museum, Japan to name a few.

展覽回顧

洛齊新作展

12月05日 - 12月31日  |  2009
洛齊
藝倡畫廊於2009年12月5日至31日舉行杭州抽象畫家洛齊的第二次香港個展,地點為藝倡畫廊新址:香港香港仔田湾海傍道七號興偉中心二三0 五室,第一次的洛濟畫展是2006年法國五月節活動之一。是次展出約十件作品,其中六件最新作包括「洛齊字迹」油畫系列(2007-08)和「詩歌」水墨系列(2007)。以紅色底色為主的「洛齊字迹」結合了傳统和現代,在一大片的紅色油彩上,寫上從篆書變化出來的「洛齊字體」,將線條、色彩、形狀構成幾何形狀,粗粗看來,是他的繪畫的字迹。至於水墨系列「詩歌」,畫家運用水墨和色彩,將簡潔的線條和色塊,拼湊出衣服的圖樣。洛齊曾於法國羅浮宫與2008/09年巴黎秋冬時裝周作互動, 水墨新作於2008年8月展於美國克利夫蘭國家公共圖書館。是次畫展的開放日為2009年12月5日(星期六)下午2時至6時,展期至2009年12月31日,開放日之後提供預約服務。

洛齊(生於1960年中國杭州), 中國抽象藝術的代表畫家之一,亦是中國大陸上世紀八十年代後現代書法運動「書法主義」的發起人和倡導者,屬於嘗試改革中國書法,並將之引進現代藝術潮流的一類畫家,向書法的美學及語義標準挑戰。 洛齊1986年畢業於杭州中國美術學院後,歷年來參與國外各類重要展覽,如意大利、德國、法國、盧森堡、美國、日本、韓國、泰國等,包括1998年紐約哥倫比亞大學的「筆底傳情:現代中國書法展覽」,引起極大的回響,2001年又編著了《書法主義文本--一個觀念的作品》。「書法主義,是嘗試改變中國文字的基本結構,甚至寫得令人難以看懂。這種書法便成為純正的抽象藝術。」(節錄自張以國著《筆底傳情:現代中國書法展覽》(Brushed Voices- Calligraphy in Contemporary China),哥倫比亞大學,美國,1998,頁56)

洛齊以傳統及現代的手法為基礎,巧妙地運用傳統的筆法,將文字的結構及線條,創新地變為無語義的形式。他擅於運用鮮豔奪目的顏色,有時甚至在中國書本上繪畫,製造拼貼效果,有時又向普普藝術借鏡,打破傳統法的局限,將傳統與現代結合,成為一種令人聯想到法蘭茲.克萊恩(Franz Kline, 1910-1962)或羅抜.馬查威爾(Robert Motherwell,1915-1991)的現代抽象畫元素。在中國人的眼中,他的作品很西化,但在西方人眼中,他的作品卻毫無疑問是中國畫。

洛齊曾獲獎項包括: 2001年意大利第三屆佛羅倫斯國際當代藝術雙年展「美迪奇國際當代藝術獎」、2004年日本富士山國際水墨藝術展「國際當代優秀藝術獎」和中國第一屆中國當代藝術十年文獻展「提名獎」。作品獲美國耶魯大學美術館、美國波士頓大學法利克美術館、美國克利夫蘭國家圖書館、法國駐香港領事館、瑞典瑪爾默現代美術館、盧森堡文化部國家畫廊、意大利亞太藝術雙年展、日本東洋書道藝術館等收藏。

附註: 「書法主義」是20世紀80年代洛齊提出的一藝術主張,提倡從中國書法傳統藝術中開拓出一個新的東方抽象藝術之路,發揮出書法的線條、結構、色彩、節奏的純視覺力量和東方藝術家的獨特抽象情感。這個主張曾經引起中國美術界和書法界的震動和討論,兩度被評為中國畫壇十大新聞。2009年北京語言大學藝術學院專門成立「書法主義文獻藝術館」作為研究「書法主義」的學術研究機構。