Past Exhibition

New Works by Wei Ligang

09 Dec - 31 Dec  |  2006
Wei Ligang
Wei Ligang, one of the most significant artists of the postmodern calligraphy movement in China during the last 20 years, attempts to transform Chinese calligraphy into contemporary abstract ink painting. In 2005, as a fellowship grantee from Asian Cultural Council Hong Kong, Wei travelled to New York to do research on recent developments in contemporary art. Since the1980s, he has exhibited in New York, London, Sydney, Seoul, Beijing, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Xian, Chengdu, Hong Kong, Taipei, etc. His works are collected by the British Museum, UK; Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, USA; Today Art Museum, Beijing and He Xiang Ning Art Gallery, Shenzhen, China, etc.

Born in 1964 Datong City, Shanxi Province, China, Wei learned Chinese opera and painting from his father when he was a child, and was a student of Tianjin famous calligraphers Li Henian (1912-2000), Wang Xuezhong (1925- ) and Sun Bo Xiang (1934- ). In 1981, he majored in mathematics at the Nankai University, Tianjin. After graduating in 1985, he taught mathematics in Taiyuan City where he began to learn Fushan (1607-1684 Chinese artist of the late Ming and early Qing Dynasty) style calligraphy. He settled in Beijing as a professional artist in 1995. He is currently Vice Chairman of the China Society of Modern Calligraphers and a professor of the Beijing Normal University Zhuhai campus.

As an art based on Fushan's cursive calligraphy, Wei Ligang's ink work has a close relationship with Chinese characters and writing. He adds cursive to the already complex seal script to make his work illegible, resulting in paintings of nonsemantic forms. Other times borrowing from Japanese modern calligraphy and Western Abstract Expressionism, his strokes entwining, tangling, penetrating, overlapping, sometimes combine with metallic colour, create a visual complexity of magical power and metamorphic unpredictability.

“Wei Ligang displays his gifted art talent including his sense in colour, hues, texture and gradation, as well as his attainments in calligraphy. Then we can see a new writing text with values on concept and vision.” (Fan Dian, Curator of National Art Museum of China, Beijing)

Alisan Fine Arts is pleased to present Wei Ligang's new works, an exhibition of around 30 works in ink on paper, collage and print. Wei Ligang will be arriving to Hong Kong especially to be present at the exhibition opening on 9 December 2006, 3pm-5pm at Alisan Fine Arts.

Additional information and images for writing an article or interview will be sent by request.

展覽回顧

魏立剛新作展

12月09日 - 12月31日  |  2006
魏立剛
魏立剛是中國後現代書法運動的重要畫家之一,嘗試把傳統的草法和篆書引進現代抽象水墨畫。在他從事藝術創作的二十多年中,一直在古典書法與現代藝術的領域中不斷探索求變。2005年獲頒亞洲文化協會香港分會獎助金,遠赴美國紐約研究當代藝術的發展概況。從1980年代至今,曾於紐約、倫敦、悉尼、首爾、北京、上海、杭州、西安、成都、香港、台北等地舉行過約四十多次展覽,作品被英國大英博物館、美國波士頓美術館、中國北京今日美術館、深圳何香凝美術館等收藏。

魏立剛生於1964年中國山西省大同市,自小隨父親學習戲曲、書畫等,先後拜天津名家如李鶴年(1912-2000)、王學仲(1925- )、孫伯翔(1934- )習書法。1981年就讀於天津南開大學數學系,1985年畢業後到太原任教數學,並開始研習傅山(1607-1684明末清初書畫家)書法,1991年業於寧波沙孟海(1900-1992名書法家)書學院第一期高級研修班。1995年定居北京,專心從事藝術創作。現為中國現代書法藝術學會副會長、北京師範大學珠海分校客座教授。

魏立剛的作品與漢字及書寫有著密切的關係,他以傅山書法和篆書為基礎,將篆書的複雜結構草書化,令篆書字體更難辨認,創新地變為無語義的抽象繪畫。另一方面他又向日本的現代書法和美國抽象表現主義繪畫借鏡。糾纒不清的線條、層層疊加的金屬色彩,與水墨產生強烈的比對效果,書寫出中國現代水墨的特色。「...施展了他極為優秀的藝術禀賦,包括對色彩、色調、肌理、層次等各方面的感覺,同時也包括他在習書經歷中積累起來的書寫能力,...呈示了一個既富觀念價值又富視覺價值的新書寫文本。」(范迪安,北京中國美術館館長)

是次藝倡畫廊展出魏立剛紙上新作共約30件,物料包括墨彩、拼貼、版畫,畫家亦將專程來港出席12月9日下午於藝倡畫舉行的畫展開幕禮。