Current Exhibition

Wang Mengsha: Whispering Blossoms

13 Dec - 16 Mar  |  2023 -2024
Wang Mengsha
VIP Preview  |  13 December, Wednesday, 5 PM -7 PM  |  Central Gallery
Introduction
Alisan Fine Arts is excited to present an exhibition of Wang Mengsha, an artist who gracefully navigates through the realms of traditional and contemporary art, where the ancient ‘xieyi’ style of painting is reborn through her innovative approach. She harmoniously blends aspects of traditional paintings of daily objects, court maidens and natural elements, all while employing a sense of humour and a vibrant palette that reminds viewers of the natural sceneries in the south-eastern part of China.

Wang’s paintings, often imbued with bold and striking colours, offers a visual feast that is both aesthetically pure and symbolically profound. Her use of a scatter-point perspective, a method from traditional Chinese painting, allows a stream-of-consciousness narrative to unfold across her works, providing a non-linear, fluid exploration of thoughts and emotions, as opposed to the logical and rigid perspective stressed by Western aesthetics. Exaggerating on this traditional method, as in her work, A Glimmer of Distant Fragrance, Wang creates a lying-on-one-side maiden, outsized butterflies or still objects, in order to invite us to step into a world where childhood dreams are not forgotten whispers but vivid realities that dance jovially on her creations.

Wang’s art does not merely depict scenes; it encapsulates emotions, memories, and a subtle yet poignant commentary on the dichotomy of our world. Wang paints not with a heavy hand, but with a lightness that belies the depth and complexity of her work. Her creations are a gentle rebellion against the heaviness of the adult world, a world where responsibilities often overshadow dreams, and pragmatism dims the vibrant colours of imagination and wonder: for example, in her artwork Shadow of the Flowers, Wang juxtaposes a child-like tiger, signifying dangers, against various auspicious elements, such as a pair of giant blue birds, oversized roses, as well as court maidens, to name a few.

Conversation with artist Wang Mengsha
"Beyond Borders: The Power of Ink Painting in a Global Context"
31 January 2024, Wednesday, 6:00pm-7:00pm
Talk will be in English and Chinese
Kindly RSVP
Also live-streamed on Instagram @alisanfinearts

In celebration of our current exhibition Wang Mengsha: Whispering Blossoms, we are happy to present an artist talk, titled Beyond Borders: The Power of Ink Painting in a Global Context, where the artist, Wang Mengsha, will be in conversation with Elaine W. Ng, the editor and publisher of ArtAsiaPacific, to discuss her artistic practice, how her artworks bridge the East and the world, and how ink painting situates in a global context.

當前展覽

王濛莎:織影

12月13日 - 03月16日  |  2023 -2024
王濛莎
貴賓預展  |  12月13日 (星期三) 下午5:00至下午7:00  |  中環空間
簡介
藝倡畫廊很高興呈獻王濛莎個展。王濛莎是一位優雅地遊走於傳統與當代藝術之間的女性畫家,她透過創新的方式,將傳統的寫意風格重新詮釋。王氏巧妙地把傳統書畫中的常見的物件、仕女和自然的元素融合一起,同時運用幽默的手法和鮮豔豐富的色彩,作品令觀者聯想到中國江南的自然風光。

王濛莎的畫作常常充滿大膽而鮮豔的色彩,呈現出具有純粹美學性和象徵意義深遠的視覺盛宴。她運用了傳統書畫中的散點透視法,讓一種意識流的敘事在她的作品中展開,提供了一種非直線式、流動的思想和情感的探索,與西方美學強調的邏輯和嚴謹透視法形成對比。王氏誇張地運用在這種傳統方法,在她的作品《一縷冷香遠》中創作了側臥的少女、巨大的蝴蝶和靜物,邀請我們進入一個童年夢想不再是被遺忘的耳語的世界,而是在她的創作中歡快起舞的生動事實。

王氏的藝術不僅描繪場景,它還融入了情感、記憶,並以一種微妙而深刻的方式對我們世界的二元對立進行評論。王氏的繪畫並不沉重,而是帶著一種輕,這種輕掩飾了她作品中的深度和複雜性。她的創作是對成年世界沉重的反抗,成年世界常因責任而失去夢想,務實的思想淡化了想像和奇妙的鮮豔色彩。例如,在她的作品《花影》中,王氏將一頭童稚的老虎與吉祥元素進行對比,例如一對巨大的藍色鳥、超大號的玫瑰花,還有宮廷仕女等等。

藝術家對談
王濛莎
"水墨是東方的,也是世界的"
2024 年 1 月 31 日,星期三 下午 6:00-下午 7:00
討論以中英文進行
請確認出席assistant@alian.com.hk
同時將於 Instagram @alisanfinearts 進行直播

為了慶祝我們的新展覽《王濛莎:織影》,我們很高興舉辦一場藝術家講座,題為《水墨是東方的,也是世界的》,藝術家王濛莎將與《亞太藝術(ArtAsiaPacific)》出版人及總編輯伍穎瑜女士討論她的藝術實踐、她的藝術作品在東方和世界之間架起橋樑,以及水墨畫在全球背景下的地位。