Current Exhibition

Landscape as Metaphor: Contemporary Voices

27 Feb - 27 Apr  |  2024
Choi, BouieChu ChuLam Tung PangWang KellyYang Yongliang
Asia Week Reception  |  14 March 2024, Thursday, 5-8pm  |  New York Gallery
Introduction
Alisan Fine Arts is pleased to present Landscape as Metaphor: Contemporary Voices, featuring a selection of works by contemporary artists Bouie Choi, Chu Chu, Lam Tung Pang, Kelly Wang and Yang Yongliang, who each showcase unique and distinctive interpretations of landscapes. On view in conjunction with Asia Week New York and a solo exhibition of works by Lui Shou-Kwan, Landscape as Metaphor: Contemporary Voices will be on view from February 27 to April 27, 2024, at Alisan Fine Arts’ recently opened New York gallery.

Bouie Choi, Lam Tung Pang, and Kelly Wang are multidisciplinary artists whose choice of material is integral to their works. Choi and Lam both work on wood panels, but their artistic processes differ greatly. Choi uses reclaimed wood, sometimes exposing it to natural elements before treating it, and allowing inconsistencies and unexpected textures in the wood to inform her compositions. Using imagery derived from her daily experiences, she depicts the urban landscape of Hong Kong and references recent events such as the protests and social unrest of the last decade.

Alternatively, Lam Tung Pang is best known for his charcoal on plywood works, often immense in size, evidenced by the major 15-meter work in the collection of the Asian Art Museum in San Francisco, as well as the 8-ft landscape currently on view at the China Institute in New York. He treats landscape as a conceptual entity; a vehicle by which he can visually convey his personal experiences, thoughts and dreams. Following his recent move to Vancouver from Hong Kong, his recent works are influenced by the new landscapes that he is experiencing, both physically and psychologically.

Kelly Wang, born and raised in the US, trained in traditional Chinese painting from a young age. Similar to the lotus works in Lui Shou-Kwan’s Zen paintings, Wang’s two Red Lotus works hover on the edge of abstraction. The inspiration for these works, however, reaches further back in time, to Bada Shanren’s hand scroll Flowers on the River. Her use of resin suspends pigment above the paper, causing the pigment to float across the surface, frozen in space. Wang’s landscapes are borne of intimate reflections on her relationships or moments of crisis. For example, Microcosm 2 is from a series that grew out of personal grief. It is a semi-sculptural work created using newspapers from the week of her father’s passing during the Covid-19 pandemic. Wang confronts her mourning by constructing a poignant, serene landscape that recalls a traditional scholar’s rock.

Yang Yongliang and Chu Chu both employ photography in their work but with contrasting results. Yang Yongliang creates fictional landscapes in a traditional Chinese style using recomposed photographs of contemporary urban images. His mountain-scapes are created using meticulously constructed digital images of skyscrapers and building sites that only become apparent upon close inspection. His recent work creates a foreground that incorporates images of wild animals, in stark contrast to the encroaching urban backdrop.

Chu Chu uses photography as a canvas for her flowing, effervescent calligraphy. Sometimes her characters are written in the shadows of the photograph’s subject, and at other times they boldly move across the entire image. Her recent works are more expansive, in particular her Cities series, where the underlying photographs are of distant cityscapes, and her calligraphy, inspired by Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities, fills the sky above.

While connected through observations of landscapes, spaces and cities, the works in this exhibition span a wide variety of mediums and each artist goes beyond physical observation to reveal deeply personal experiences and parts of their own identities.

Alisan Fine Arts will host an official opening event on March 14, 2024, as part of Asia Week New York, which runs from March 14 to 22, 2024

當前展覽

山水為喻:當代的清音

02月27日 - 04月27日  |  2024
蔡鈺娟儲楚林東鵬王佳怡楊泳梁
紐約亞洲週酒會  |  2024年3月14日(週四)下午5至8時  |  紐約空間
簡介
藝倡畫廊紐約空間榮幸地呈獻《山水為喻:當代的清音》展覽,展示當代藝術家蔡鈺娟、儲楚、林東鵬、王佳怡和楊泳樑的作品,分別對山水作出了獨特的詮釋。此展覽與紐約亞洲週和呂壽琨個展同時舉行,將於2024年2月27日至4月27日在藝倡畫廊最近開設的紐約空間展出。


蔡鈺娟、林東鵬和王佳怡是跨界藝術家,他們選擇的材料對作品至關重要。蔡鈺娟和林東鵬都使用木板作為創作媒介,但他們的創作過程卻有着很大的差異。蔡鈺娟使用回收的木材,有時將其暴露在自然環境中,然後進行處理,允許木材中的不一致和意外的紋理來影響她的構圖。她從日常經歷中獲得靈感,描繪了香港的城市風景,並參考了過去十年的抗議和社會動盪等事件。

另一方面,林東鵬以他在板上炭筆的作品而聞名,這些作品通常規模巨大,如舊金山亞洲藝術博物館收藏的一件長達15米的重要作品,以及目前在紐約美華學院展出的一幅8英呎的風景畫。他將風景視為一個概念實體,透過它可以視覺地傳達自己的個人經歷、思想和夢想。隨着他最近從香港移君溫哥華後,他的最新作品受到他在身體和心理上經歷的新風景所影響。


王佳怡在美國出生和成長,從小接受傳統中國繪畫的訓練。類似呂壽琨禪畫中的蓮花,王氏的兩幅紅蓮作品處於抽象的邊緣。然而,這些作品的靈感可以追溯到更久遠的朝代,即八大山人的手卷《河上花》。她使用樹脂浮在紙上的顏料,使顏料浮動在紙的表面上,被凝固在空間中。 王氏的風景作品源自於她對個人關係或危機的親密反思。例如,作品《微觀2》源自個人悲傷的一個系列,是在她父親於疫情期間去世的那一周使用報紙創作的半雕塑作品。王氏透過建造一個令人動容、寧靜的景觀來面對自己的哀悼,這讓人想起中國傳統文人喜愛的奇石。

楊泳樑和儲楚都在他們的作品中使用攝影,但結果截然不同。楊泳梁使用重組的當代城市圖像照片,以傳統中國風格創作虛構的風景。他的風景畫使用精心建造的摩天大樓和建築工地的數位影像創建而成,只有在近距離觀看時才能察覺出來。他最近的作品在前景中融入了野生動物的圖像,與漸漸滲入的城市背景形成鮮明對比。

儲楚將攝影作為她流暢、充滿活力的書法的畫布。有時,她的字體寫在照片主題的陰影中,而有時它們大膽地穿越整個圖像。她最近的作品更為廣闊,特別是她的《城市系列》,照片的底部是遙遠的城市景觀,而她的書法則受到意大利作家卡爾維諾的《無形的城市》的啟發,填滿了 上方的天空。

雖然這次展覽中的作品透過對風景、空間和城市的觀察互相聯繫,但涵蓋了各種不同的媒介,每位藝術家都超越了肉體的觀察,揭示出深刻的個人經歷和自我身份的一部分。

藝倡畫廊將於2024年3月14日舉辦正式的開幕酒會,作為紐約亞洲週的一部分,亞洲週的時間為2024年3月14日至22日。