Current Exhibition

Themes and Variations

27 Jun - 23 Aug  |  2024
Hung FaiHung KeungLee Chun-yiLin GuochengLok YitongPan, Ren LightTai XiangzhouTongson WesleyWai Pong YuWang MengshaWang TiandeWei LigangZhang XiaoliZhang YirongZhang Ying
Opening Reception  |  25 July, Thursday, 6-8pm  |  New York Gallery
Introduction
Rotation 1: 6/27 – 7/23
Rotation 2: 7/24 – 8/23
Opening reception: Thursday June 27th, 6-8pm
Second reception: Thursday July 25th, 6-8pm

Alisan Fine Arts New York is pleased to announce the opening on June 27th of Themes and Variations, featuring the work of 15 artists who explore the use of Chinese Ink within their practice. The exhibition includes work by Hung Fai, Hung Keung, Lee Chunyi, Lin Guocheng, Lok Yitong, Ren Light Pan, Tai Xiangzhou, Wesley Tongson, Wang Mengsha, Wang Tiande, Wai Pongyu, Wei Ligang, Zhang Xiaoli, Zhang Ying and Zhang Yirong.

Signs and Symbols
Bird-and-flower painting is a longstanding traditional subject in Chinese art, often used as symbols of human virtues such as resilience and beauty, and even political authority. Artists Zhang Yirong and Lee Chun-yi continue this tradition, Zhang in her detailed, gongbi style of painting and Lee in a more nuanced manner with his method of stamping paper with hand-carved seals. Symbols and Iconography appear throughout China’s artistic tradition; Wei Ligang and Zhang Ying incorporate scholar rocks into their compositions, objects of contemplation and self-cultivation; and Lin Guocheng draws inspiration from the Three Star Mound, a majestic ancient burial site in Sichuan, China. Lin sets imagery from the site against a pixelated background, seeking a dialogue between contemporary digital world and his historical roots.

Spiritual Landscapes
Landscape, a traditional theme in Chinese ink painting, has historically focused less on realistic depiction and more on conveying spiritual resonance and reflecting the artist's state of mind and personality. The artists in this group push this concept further, into areas of identity, as in Ren Light Pan’s ink-transfers of female clothing and Hung Fai’s Vessel, which explores the relationship between mother and son. Wesley Tongson’s Spiritual Mountain series takes its inspiration from many forms of devotion, from the teachings of Buddhism, Daoism, and Christianity to references to the natural world, and he takes the spectacular leap from the brush to using his fingers to apply his ink. Wang Tiande’s work also eschews the brush, using of incense sticks to create burn marks on layered rice paper, to create his traditional landscapes and calligraphy. Abstract ‘landscapes’ are also included in this section. Tai Xiangzhou’s Propitious Rock from Heaven is a rumination on the Cosmos; Wai Pong Yu’s A Rhythm of Landscape series focuses on the act of creation, using a pen to draw ink lines across paper until it frays and rips.

Poetry and Painting
Poetry, calligraphy and portraying life have long been important themes in the history of literati painting. The artists in this room take different contemporary approaches to this tradition – Lok Yitong takes a visual interpretation to traditional poetry, using repetitive abstract forms that recall the rhythm of the verses, and then weaving calligraphy into the compositions. Wang Mengsha is known for her ‘Xieyi’ style of paintings, where she recontextualizes imagery from traditional paintings of court maidens and ancient scenes of everyday life. In contrast is the stoic, defined work of Zhang Xiaoli, whose Box with Multiple Openings houses the elements of wind, fire and water. Also included is a video piece and accompanying print by Hung Keung. The piece depicts mist, flowers, charcoal, and rice paper transitioning from vibrancy to decay through ink variations. The dancing Chinese characters respond to these subtle changes, suggesting the relationship between the nature and the passage of time.

Themes and Variations will be shown in two rotations, with the first on view from June 27th – July 23rd, and the second from July 24th - August 23rd. Please join us for the opening receptions on June 27th and July 25th, from 6-8pm.

當前展覽

主題與變奏

06月27日 - 08月23日  |  2024
熊輝洪強李君毅林國成駱奕同潘光遠泰祥洲唐家偉韋邦雨王濛莎王天德魏立剛張小黎張藝蓉張鷹
開幕禮  |  6月27日(週四)下午6至8時  |  紐約空間
簡介
第一輪展期:6月27日至7月23日
第二輪展期:7月24日至8月23日
開幕酒會:6月27日 (星期四) 下午6時至8時
第二次酒會:7月25日 (星期四) 下午6時至8時

藝倡畫廊-紐約空間很高興地宣布「主題與變奏」於2024年6月27日開幕。此次展覽展出15位藝術家的作品,他們在實踐中探索中國水墨的運用,包括熊輝、洪強、李君毅、林國成、駱奕同、潘光遠、泰祥洲、唐家偉、王濛莎、王天德、韋邦雨、魏立剛、張小黎、張鷹及張藝蓉。

展覽匯集了來自香港、內地和美國不同年代與背景的藝術家,旨在展示過去半個世紀以來中國水墨藝術的各種創作手法。這些藝術家雖然沉浸在「正統」的非西方藝術史脈絡中,卻超越了這項傳統,採用新穎的材料和創作方式,亦保留中國水墨的能量與精神。展覽分為三個主題,概述如下。

「標誌與符號」
中國畫中的花鳥畫是一個悠久的傳統題材,常被用作美德如堅強和美麗,甚至政治權威的象徵。藝術家張藝蓉和李君毅延續了這項傳統。張藝蓉以她細緻入微的工筆畫風,展現作品的精細之處;而李君毅則透過手工雕刻印章並在紙上拓印,呈現出更加細膩的效果。符號和圖像學在中國藝術傳統中廣泛存在。魏立剛、張鷹將中國庭園的奇石融入他們的作品中,作為沉思和自我修煉的對象,而林國成則從中國四川一座壯麗的古墓遺址「三星堆」中汲取靈感。林國成將遺址的圖像置在像素化的背景之中,旨在探索當代數位世界與他的歷史根源之間的對話。

「精神景觀」
中國的風景畫是傳統主題,歷史上更注重傳達精神上的共鳴、反映藝術家的心境和個性,而非現實的描繪。這個群體的藝術家將這個概念推向更深層次,涉及身份認同。例如,潘光遠運用水墨移印法表達性別轉變的主題,而熊輝的作品「源」則探索母子關係的內涵。唐家偉的「靈山系列」從佛教、道教和基督教的教義,以及自然界的啟示中獲得靈感,大膽地將畫筆轉變為以手指塗抹水墨的方式,呈現出獨特的藝術效果。王天德的作品也超越傳統畫筆的限制,他巧妙地運用香支在層層疊加的宣紙上留下燒痕,創作傳統山水畫和書法作品。這一部分也包括抽象的山水作品,以不拘泥於形象的表達方式展現藝術家的思想和情感。泰祥洲的作品「天星吉石」則是對宇宙的深刻思考,透過繪畫將宇宙的奧秘和神秘感表達出來。韋邦雨的「山河變奏」則專注於創造的過程,他運用鋼筆在紙上繪製墨線,直到紙張磨損和撕裂,將藝術行為與作品的形成過程融為一體。

「詩與繪畫」
詩歌、書法和描繪生活長期以來一直是文人畫史上重要的主題。這個主題中的藝術家們以不同的當代方式對這一傳統進行創作——駱奕同通過視覺詮釋傳統詩歌,運用重複的抽象形式呼應詩句的韻律,然後將書法融入作品中。王濛莎以她的「寫意」風格聞名,她重新演繹了宮廷仕女和古代日常場景的傳統繪畫意象。與之形成對比的是張小黎那冷靜、明確的作品「多面盒子」容納了風、火和水的元素。此外,還包括洪強的數位移動圖像和對應的絲印版畫,此系列的錄像透過霧氣、花朵、木炭和宣紙由生機蓬勃到衰敗的過程,呈現墨的變奏。而數位移動圖像中舞動的漢字對這些微妙的變化作出回應,暗示了自然與時間流逝之間的關係。

「主題與變奏」將進行兩次展覽輪換,第一輪展覽將於6月27日至7月23日展出,第二輪展覽將於7月24日至8月23日展出。歡迎您參加6月27日和7月25日晚上6時至8時的開幕酒會。