Past Exhibition

Wang Mengsha – Gardens

24 Sep - 05 Nov  |  2016
Wang Mengsha Catalogue
Artist talk starts at 4:30pm

As part of South Island Art Day on 24 September,
there will be two dance performances at the gallery: 3pm & 5:30pm
Free shuttle bus available from Central to Alisan Fine Arts,
visit www.sicd.com.hk for more info

Also participating in Hong Kong Art Week-Art Day at South Island, Nov 5, Sat, 12-7pm
visit www.hk-aga.org for more info


Wang Mengsha Explains “Gardens”
In 2014, Alisan Fine Arts presented “Beyond the Jade Terrace”, showcasing four standout female artists, including Wang, from China whose ink paintings offer a refreshingly new aesthetic sensibility. “Gardens” marks our first solo show for Wang, on display are 11 ink paintings created between 2014-2016 featuring images of Chinese maidens and beauties, children, plants, rocks, butterflies, and still life portraits. She was inspired by the scenery and gardens from her hometown in Taihu, as well as ancient paintings. The paintings on display are simply composed and are suffused with open spaces and strong colours. She was inspired by ancient literati painting albums, and dream-like backgrounds, creating a distinctive juxtaposition between the two. The exhibition title, “gardens” showcases scenes from beautiful Chinese garden, expressing the dreams of contemporary women, and can be understood as a spiritual garden.

Wang writes that:
“The theme revolves around gardens and courtyards, and many of the paintings are depictions of the lives of people from ancient times. In fact, the paintings are also of what people imagine to be the most ideal lifestyle. In China, ‘gardens’ are a welcoming and mysterious place. They symbolize nature, while simultaneously possessing humanity’s dreams. Generally speaking, a Chinese garden has white walls and dark grey tiles, scholar rocks, carved railings, marble steps, clear spring water, cultivated flora and a diverse wildlife. The people, animals, and vegetation are a microcosm of the world -each with their own role- wandering in this secluded sanctuary. If ‘gardens’ is the theme, then what is depicted -the flowers, grass, trees, rocks, human, and animals- is ‘the language of emotions’. It is as if people use these spaces to encapsulate their ideal lives in a dream. From the past to the present, people yearn for for a utopian land, to hold themselves above worldly concerns. These paintings express this very feeling, and the wish to lead a private and leisurely life.
When painting I utilize pale and misty or bright colours to bring viewers into a world that they have never experienced before. Sometimes I use white spaces to represent overtones like in a musical piece, because they linger in one’s mind. Or I completely fill in the space with bright colours to express the spectrum of my emotions. I portray a space that has passed by, but in fact exists in the deep recesses of our dreams. The way in which I express shapes and colours draws from a contemporary vocabulary, and the paintings reflect on philosophy and aesthetics.
For me, ‘Gardens’, as a subject could become a cultural phenomenon in the future, and there are opportunities for further study. I will endeavour to continue exploring this subject matter in my art.”

About the Artist
Wang Mengsha is a talented new addition to the international art scene, who has shown remarkable talents from the start of her career. In 2009 she was selected as one of “China’s young artists most deserving of immediate media attention.” Her ink paintings are skilled depictions of demure court maidens and beauties (shinǚ) from the past. Her brushwork is calligraphic in nature and she uses a variety of colours. Stylistically her work is refreshingly new and refined. At present, she has become one of the most contested feminist artists in China today. As a young artist, she uses this perspective and adopts a sense of humor to innovatively combine aspects of traditional paintings of court maidens and beauties with landscape paintings (shanshuihua), drawing them into a new artistic realm. Over the years, she has had over 40 solo and group exhibitions in important art museums and galleries, and last year her works were sold at Poly Auction Hong Kong bringing her to the attention of a new generation of collectors.
Born in 1982 in Wuxi, Jiangsu province, Wang grew up in an artistic family. In 2006 she graduated from the Xi’an Academy of Fine Art, having studied animation. Since then she has completed advanced studies at Griffith University, in Queensland Australia, and the University of Southampton, in the United Kingdom. After returning to China, she became a full time artist. She has been honoured with many awards, including in 2009 when the Beijing magazine “Chinese Painting” selected her as one of “China’s young artists most deserving of immediate media attention”. In 2011 Bazaar Art selected her artwork as one of their 100 most favourite artworks of the year. In 2013 the Beijing magazine “National Arts” awarded her the Golden Star Prize. She currently lives and works in Beijing. She has exhibited at the University of Edinburgh Library, in England, Galerie 99 in Germany, the China Cultural Centre in Tokyo Japan, International Art Centre in Jeju Province South Korea, the Today Art Museum in Beijing China, the Shanghai Art Museum in Shanghai China, and the College of Fine Art Nanjing Art Institute in Nanjing China.


Catalogue available

展覽回顧

王濛莎 ─ 園

09月24日 - 11月05日  |  2016
王濛莎 Catalogue
香港首次個展
畫家講座:下午四時半開始

9月24日南港島藝術日活動之一,於畫廊舉行兩場舞蹈表演:下午三時&下午五時半
免費專車往來中環至藝倡畫廊,詳情請瀏覽www.sicd.com.hk

另外,香港藝術週-南島藝術日活動之一,11月5日(星期六)中午十二時至下午七時
詳情請瀏覽www.hk-aga.org


王濛莎解釋「園」字
2014年藝倡畫廊舉行四位內地年輕女畫家聯展「玉臺新詠」,王濛莎便是其中一位,她們的作品風格獨特,各具特色。而今年藝倡首次為王氏舉行個展「園」,展出王濛莎2014至2016年繪畫的11張水墨畫,題材有仕女、稚子、花草、樹石、蝴蝶、鴛鴦、靜物等,創作靈感來自她家鄉太湖的園林景色和古代繪畫。展出的畫作中,有構圖簡約和溫潤暈染,亦有滿布空間和濃烈色彩;有靈感取自古代文人冊頁,亦有現代夢幻的舞台效果,形成強烈的視覺對比。展名取單字「園」,借庭院的優雅景致,來表達當代女性的夢,可以說是一個心靈的花園。

王濛莎認為:
「中國的『園』是一個溫馨而神秘的地帶,『園』是符號化了的大自然,同時具有人性的幻想。粉牆黛瓦,奇石假山,雕欄玉砌,清泉流水,幽花飛禽,高牆碧梧,遊居在這裏的人上演著塵世間不同的戲。以『園』作母題,所表現的花草,樹石,人物,飛禽走獸皆『情語』。在繪畫上或淡煙迷朦,或五彩斑斕,或䟽簡空靈,或滿幅層染,以自己獨特的方式把觀賞者帶到一個從未體驗過的世界,描繪一個看似逝去,實質還留存在人們心底深處的夢。這些形,色的呈現具有當代的語匯,繪畫中寓哲學與美學新思考。」

關於畫家
王濛莎,近年於國際藝壇嶄露頭角的80後年輕內地女畫家,2009年獲選為「中國當下最值得媒體關注的青年畫家」之一。她的水墨畫擅於描寫古代仕女的嬌柔,線條帶有書法性,筆法細膩,顏色用墨濃淡得宜,風格清新脫俗,成為時下被熱烈討論「藝術中的女性主義」的畫家之一。她以年輕人的觀察角度和幽默感,創新的把傳統仕女與山水畫帶入一個新的境界,別具獨創性。多年來,她已在海內外的主要美術館和畫廊展出個展和聯展約40次,她的畫作更於去年香港保利拍賣會售出,深受新一代收藏家的關注。

生於1982年江蘇無錫,出生於書畫世家。 2006年畢業於西安美術學院,研習動畫。又先後進修於澳洲格里菲斯大學、英國南安普敦大學,返國後全面投入藝術創作。曾獲頒多個獎項,包括2009年北京《中國書畫》雜誌選為「中國當下最值得媒體關注的十位青年畫家」之一、2011 年《芭莎藝術》世界100件年度至愛傑作獎、2013年北京《國家美術》雜誌金星獎最具價值獎。現工作及居於北京。作品曾展於英國愛丁堡大學圖書館、德國久久畫廊、日本東京中國文化中心、韓國濟州國際藝術中心、中國北京今日美術館、上海美術館、南京藝術學院美術館。


展覽畫冊同時出版