Gallery History

This year Alisan Fine Arts celebrates its 35th Anniversary of promoting Chinese contemporary art. Co-founded in the 1980s by Alice King, it is one of the first professionally run galleries in Hong Kong and has been a pioneer in the field of Chinese contemporary art and New Ink Art. The gallery focuses on promoting Chinese artists from the mainland as well as established Hong Kong artists and Chinese diaspora. Over the years, under the leadership of Alice King, the gallery has organized over 100 exhibitions in Hong Kong and abroad. Daphne King Yao was appointed director in 2005, and has continued to showcase works by artists that Alisan has represented over the years as well as a new generation of Chinese artists.

In 1987 the gallery organized one of the first exhibitions in Hong Kong to showcase contemporary mainland Chinese artists. The landmark exhibition “A State of Transition: Contemporary Paintings from Shanghai” included fourteen artists such as Chen Jialing and Li Shan. Subsequently, in 1989 the gallery then put together “Modern Chinese Paintings: A Selection from Beijing, Hangzhou, Sichuan” introducing the works of Peng Xiancheng, Zeng Mi, Nie Ou, Jia Youfu and Jiang Baolin to the Hong Kong public. Both were held at the Hong Kong Arts Centre.

The gallery was also the first to organize a commercial exhibition of Zao Wou-ki's works in Hong Kong in 1993 and since then has held five more solo exhibitions for the acclaimed artist. Alisan has also organized solo exhibitions for well-known artists Chu Teh-chun, Walasse Ting and manages the estate of Chao Chung-hsiang.

While introducing contemporary Chinese art to the West, Alisan Fine Arts has also staged exhibitions for Western artists and has collaborated with galleries in Europe and the United States, such as Galerie Jan Krugier of Switzerland, Galerie Enrico Navarra of Paris and E. V. Thaw and Artemis of New York. In 1995, Mrs. King was instrumental in bringing the French sculptor Bernar Venet’s exhibition to the Shanghai Museum. A strong supporter of Le French May in Hong Kong, the gallery has organized numerous exhibitions for French Chinese artists, including Chu Teh-chun, Gao Xingjian, T’ang Haywen, Yang Jiechang, Zao Wou-ki as well as French artists, including Marc Chagall in 1994, Richard Texier in 2007 and Fabienne Verdier in 2014 as part of Le French May program.

Continued effort has been made for gallery artists to be included in museum collections, these include:
The British Museum, London; The Boston Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; The Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago; The Peabody Essex Museum, Massachusetts; The Pacific Asia Museum, Pasadena, California; The Chinese Culture Center of San Francisco, San Francisco; The Jane Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum of Rutgers University, New Jersey; The Hong Kong Museum of Art; M+ of Visual Culture Collection, West Kowloon Cultural District, Hong Kong; The National Art Museum of China, Beijing; The Shanghai Art Museum; The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), Shanghai; The China Academy of Art, Hangzhou; The Taiwan Provincial Fine Art Museum, Taichung; The Taipei Fine Arts Museum, Taipei; The Aarhus Kunstmuseum, Aarhus, Denmark; The Malmo Konsthall, Sweden. Alisan Fine Arts’s corporate clients include the Hong Kong MTR, Hong Kong’s Peninsula Hotel, JP Morgan and Beijing’s Oriental Plaza to name a few.

Alisan Fine Arts has organized and co-organized many important exhibitions including:

  • 1987 — A State of Transition: Contemporary Paintings from Shanghai, The Hong Kong Arts Centre
  • 1989 — Modern Chinese Paintings: A selection from Beijing, Hangzhou, Sichuan, The Hong Kong Arts Centre
  • 1995 — Wonders of Chinese Abstraction, Alisan Fine Arts and Kwang Hwa Gallery
  • 1995 — Lui Shou-kwan (1919-1975) and His School, The Hong Kong Arts Centre
  • 1997 — Chinese Abstraction and Beyond, The Hong Kong Arts Centre
  • 1997 — Chinese Roots (To mark the Handover of Hong Kong to China), The Shanghai Art Museum
  • 1998 — Shanghai International Sculpture Symposium
  • 1998 - Mrs. King contributed to the Zao Wou-ki Retrospective exhibitions in China, The Shanghai Art Museum; The Palace of Fine Arts, Beijing; Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou
  • 1999 — The Second Year-Long Contemporary Sculpture Exhibition, The He Xiangning Art Gallery, Shenzhen
  • 1999 — Chao Chung-hsiang Exhibition and Symposium, The Shanghai Chinese Painting Institute
  • 1999 — Chao Chung-hsiang: His Singular Legacy, The Zhejiang West Lake Art Museum, Hangzhou
  • 2000 — Oriental Plaza: Selected Contemporary Sculpture from China, The Oriental Plaza, Beijing
  • 2001 — John Way: A Retrospective at 80, The Shanghai Art Museum
  • 2004 — Chao Chung-hsiang: An Eternal Searcher, The Taipei Museum of History
  • 2004 — Love of the Cosmos: The Art of Chao Chung-hsiang, The National Art Museum of China, Beijing; The Shanghai Art Museum; Galerie Adler, Paris and the Hong Kong Arts Centre
  • 2007 — Floating Reeds: An Installation by Ming Fay, MOCA, Shanghai
  • 2007 — Exploration: New Ink Art Shanghai 2007, The Zhu Qizhan Art Museum, Shanghai
  • 2007 — The New Face of Ink Painting: Modern Ink Painting Group Exhibition and Symposium, Central Plaza Lobby & Olympic City 1, Hong Kong
  • 2007 — A Lyrical Journey: Chinyee’s 50-Year Retrospective, The Shanghai Art Museum and Alisan Fine Arts
  • 2010 — Walasse Ting: I Love Flowers All My Life, The Hong Kong Arts Centre
  • 2011 — Selected Asian Cultural Council Fellows: Then and Now, Works by Wei Ligang, Wei Qingji, Zhang Jianqun, Asian Cultural Council Hong Kong and Alisan Fine Arts
  • 2015 — Yang Jiechang: Good Morning Hong Kong – Le French May, Hong Kong Central Library and Alisan Fine Arts
  • 2015 — A Legacy of Ink: Lui Shou-kwan 40 Years On. An Exhibition of Lui Shou- kwan, His Students and a New Generation of Artists, the Hong Kong Arts Centre and Alisan Fine Arts


Alisan Fine Arts has participated in many Art Fairs such as:
Art Basel in Hong Kong 2013-16; Ink Asia in 2015; Fine Art Asia 2009, 2012-15; Masterpiece London 2013; Art HK 10 and 12; Tresors, Singapore 1993-95, 1997; the International Asian Art Fair, New York, 1996; Art Taipei, 1994; Art Asia, Hong Kong 1992. In 2009, after being in Prince’s Building, Central for over 20 years, Alisan Fine Arts moved to its current location in Aberdeen, providing a larger gallery space for display, office and library.

關於我們

藝倡畫廊由金董建平女士聯合創辦於1980年代,是香港成立最早的著名專業畫廊之一,亦成為向全球收藏家推介當代中國藝術和新水墨藝術的先驅。藝倡畫廊主要推廣中國內地藝術家和,以及香港著名藝術家和海外華裔藝術家。藝倡畫廊現時擁有兩個畫廊空間,分別位於中環商業區和香港仔。

多年來在金董建平女士的領導下,藝倡畫廊在香港及海外組織超過一百多個畫展。1996年姚金昌玲女士參與畫廊的工作,2005年獲任命為畫廊主持人,2011年起正式接管畫廊。今後她會繼續推廣藝倡畫廊多年來一直代理的藝術家的作品,還有新一代中國藝術家。

1987年藝倡畫廊舉辦了香港最早展出當代中國內地畫家的展覽之一、極具代表性的重要展覽「上海繪畫:蛻變中的中國藝術」,展出十四位畫家包括陳家泠和李山。繼而於1989年舉辦「現代中國繪畫:北京、杭州及四川 畫家選集」,向香港市民推介彭先誠、曾宓、聶鷗、賈又福和姜寶林的作品。兩次畫展同樣於香港藝術中心舉行。

藝倡畫廊亦是首間為趙無極在1993年香港舉行個展售賣作品的畫廊,其後更為這位獲高度讚揚的畫家先後舉行五次個展。藝倡亦為著名畫家朱德群、呂壽琨、丁雄泉和趙春翔舉行個展。

藝倡畫廊意識到跨文化交流的力量,與藝術界齊心協力,不但致力把當代中國藝術家引進西方,同時也為西方藝術家在香港舉行展覽。1995年金董建平女士更協助法國雕塑家貝納.維尼(Bernar Venet)在上海博物館成功地舉辦展覽。畫廊亦一直大力支持香港法國五月節(由法國駐港澳領事館主辦、向香港推廣法國文化的藝術節),為法國華裔藝術家舉行多次個展,包括朱德群、高行健、曾海文、楊詰蒼、趙無極,還有為法國藝術家包括夏卡爾(Marc Chagall)於1994 年、尚.德哥特(Jean Degottex)於2005年、李察.塔克西埃(Richard Texier)於2007年、法比恩.維迪爾(Fabienne Verdier)於2014年舉行個展,這些都是法國五月節活動之一。為表揚董女士努力的成果,法國政府分別於1995年及2000年頒授她藝術與文學騎士勳章和法國榮譽軍團騎士勳章,2013年更獲頒法國藝術與文學軍官勳章。

除此以外,畫廊一直致力向世界各國的美術館推薦畫廊藝術家,讓他們的作品 成為館藏之一。多年來通過畫廊收藏作品的美術館包括:

倫敦大英博物館、波士頓美術博物館、芝加哥藝術學院、麻省碧波地博物館、 加州亞太博物館、舊金山中國文化中心、新澤西羅傑斯大學芝莫利美術館、香港藝術館、香港西九文化區M+視覺文化博物館、北京中國美術館、上海美術館 、上海當代藝術館、杭州中國美術學院、台中台灣省立美術館、台北市立美術 館、丹麥阿克斯美術館、瑞典瑪爾美術館。藝倡曾為許多公司機構擔任藝術顧 問,幫助策劃收藏,包括香港地鐵公司、香港半島酒店、摩根大通證券有限公司和北京東方廣場。

藝倡畫廊曾主辦及協辦多項重要展覽,包括:

  • 1987 - 上海繪畫:蛻變中的中國藝術,香港藝術中心
  • 1989 -現代中國繪畫-北京、杭州及四川畫家選集,香港藝術中心
  • 1995 - 共賞抽象之美,藝倡畫廊與光華藝廊
  • 1995 - 藝天繁星-呂壽琨師生畫友聯展,香港藝術中心
  • 1997 - 意象之外,香港藝術中心
  • 1997 - 情結中國-慶祝香港回歸祖國,上海美術館
  • 1998 - 上海城市雕塑國際研討會
  • 1998 - 董女士參與於中國內地舉辦的趙無極回顧展,上海美術館; 北京故宮博物院; 廣州廣東美術館
  • 1999 - 第二屆當代雕塑藝術年度展,深圳何香凝美術館
  • 1999 - 趙春翔遺作展暨學術討論會,上海中國畫院
  • 1999 - 趙春翔:遺世絕俗.卓爾不群畫展,杭州浙江西湖美術館
  • 2000 - 東方廣埸:中國現代雕塑精品展,北京東方廣場
  • 2001 - 魏樂唐八十回顧展,上海美術館
  • 2004 - 趙春翔:生命之光-永恒的追尋者,台北歷史博物館
  • 2004 - 德沛宇宙:趙春翔的繪畫,北京中國美術館、上海美術館、法國巴黎Galerie Adler、香港藝術中心
  • 2007 - 飄簧:費明杰的雕塑裝置藝術,上海當代藝術館
  • 2007 - 水墨在途:上海新水墨藝術大展,上海朱屺曕藝術館
  • 2007 - 水墨新貌:現代水墨畫聯展暨學術研討會,香港中環廣場及奧海城
  • 2007 - 抒情之旅:青意50年回顧展,上海美術館及藝倡畫廊
  • 2010 - 丁雄泉:一生愛花,香港藝術中心
  • 2011 - 亞洲文化協會藝術家選集:昔日.今朝-魏立剛、魏青吉、張健君作品展,亞洲文化協會香港分會及藝倡畫廊
  • 2015 - 楊詰蒼:香港早晨-法國五月節,香港中央圖書館及藝倡畫廊
  • 2015 - 呂壽琨水墨傳奇四十年:呂壽琨師生畫友及新一代藝術家聯展,香港藝術中心及藝倡畫廊
  • 2016 - 藝倡畫廊三十五周年,香港中央圖書館


藝倡畫廊多年來曾參以下國際藝術博覽會:
香港巴塞爾藝術展2013-2017、水墨藝博2015-16、典亞藝博2009, 2012-2015、英國倫敦大師傑作藝博會2013、香港國際藝術展2010, 2012、新加坡藝術博覽會1993-1995, 1997、紐約國際亞洲藝術博覽會1996、美在台北1994、香港亞洲藝術博覽會1992。