Upcoming Exhibition

Chinyee: Dances of the Inner Being

07 Dec - 19 Jan  |  2018 -2019
Chinyee
Opening Reception  |  10 December 2018, 6-8pm  |  Central Gallery
To be officiated by
Mr. Jack E. Lange
Chairman, American Chamber of Commerce

In the presence of the artist
Exhibition brochure available

Alisan Fine Arts is proud to present our fourth solo exhibition of recent paintings by Chinyee, an American Chinese, female artist whose work has been esteemed by critics as “Lyrical Abstraction.” Chinyee’s work is permeated with influences from both East and West. Her loose, unformulated brushstrokes reflect both Asian brush techniques and years of careful study of modern abstraction. The symphonic, colourful, and optimistic aura of her works is edged with dynamism. Through her work, one may glimpse the spontaneity of De Kooning, the poignancy of Joan Mitchell, and the spaciousness of Mark Rothko. For this exhibition we will be showing a body of new works, both on canvas and on paper.

Artist's Statement:
Painting to me is a process of discovering, shaping and reshaping my inner being. I work spontaneously—starting with a line or a dot, similar to Chinese calligraphy, from left or right. Then I let the drama begin to develop among the colours and lines under my subconscious control. I seek in my work rhythm, harmony among conflicts, lines with energy, and even surprise. I chose to do abstract painting and it is still the best form of my expression. The charm of abstract paintings is that visually they are vague, uncertain, intuitive. The language utters energetic rhythm, subconscious cries, and subtle poems.

Chinyee (b. 1929 Nanjing, China) graduated with highest honors from Nankai high school in Zhongqing and was awarded a scholarship to study in the United States. She earned her B.A. in Fine Arts at the College of Mount Saint Vincent and then went on to receive her Master’s Degree in Art Education at the New York University. She also studied at the Art Students League and the 8th Street studio. In 1965 she had her first solo exhibition at the prestigious Mi-Chou Gallery in New York City. Her work has been exhibited in galleries in Manhattan and in galleries and institutions elsewhere in the United States and abroad, namely England, Japan, Taiwan and Hong Kong. Earlier this year, the Chinese American Arts Council hosted her solo show Dances of the Inner Being at Gallery 456 in New York City.

Chinyee’s work has been selected and honored by UNICEF and by the United States Art in Embassies program for exhibition in US embassies and ambassadors’ residencies abroad. Her work was recently displayed at the US Consul General’s home in Hong Kong. In 1989 she was awarded the title “Artist of the Nineties” by Manhattan Arts magazine. Her works were selected by the Jane Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum at Rutgers University (New Jersey) to be included in their traveling exhibition Asian-American Artists and Abstraction 1945-1970, which took place from 1997-1999. In 2007, Alisan Fine Arts organised Chinyee’s 50-year Retrospective at the Shanghai Art Museum. AFA has additionally held three solo exhibitions for the artist (2006, 2013, 2018), and was featured in our 2018 charity exhibition Hope of works by important female artists.

即將展出

青意:心靈的舞動

12月07日 - 01月19日  |  2018 -2019
青意
開幕禮  |  二O一八年十二月十日(星期一)下午六時至八時  |  中環展覽空間
主禮嘉賓
朗傑先生 
香港美國商會主席

藝術家將出席開幕禮
展覽小冊子同時出版

藝倡畫廊十分榮幸為青意舉行第四次近作個展,青意是一位美國華裔女藝術家,其作品被評論家稱為「抒情抽象」。青意的作品深受東西方的影響,充滿動感、無規則的破筆反映了東方筆墨的技巧和她多年來對現代抽象主義的深入研究。她的藝術風格有如交響樂一樣,豐富多彩富於樂觀的氛圍,令她的畫作充滿活力。 通過她的作品,觀者可以瞥見德科寧的自發性、瓊·米歇爾的淒美,以及馬克۰羅斯科的寬敞空間感。 在本次展覽中,我們展出示一系列在布和紙上的新作。

藝術家的自述:
對我而言,繪畫是一個發現、塑造和重塑我內心的過程。我自發地工作──從一條線或一個點開始,類似寫中國書法從左到右,然後我讓戲劇開始在我潛意識控制下的色彩和筆觸之間發展。我尋求作品中的節奏、衝突之間的和諧、條線的力量甚至驚喜。我選擇創作抽象繪畫,它仍然是我表達的最佳形式。我發現抽象繪畫的魅力在視覺上是模糊的、不確定的。語言表達了精力充沛的節奏、潛意識的吶喊和微妙的詩歌(這是現實的事)。

青意(出生於1929年南京)以優異成績畢業於重慶南開中學,並獲得獎學金赴美國留學於紐約聖雲遜山大學,獲學士學位,再於紐約大學獲藝術教育碩士學位。她還曾在紐約藝術學生聯盟和第八街工作室學習。 一九六五年她在紐約著名的米舟畫廊舉辦了首次個展。作品曾在曼哈頓的畫廊以及美國和海外其他地方的畫廊和機構展出,括英國、日本、台灣和香港。今年初美華藝術協會在紐約456藝廊為她舉行個展「心靈的舞動」。

青意的作品曾獲聯合國兒童基金會挑選用於拍攝教育影片,又獲選參加美國國務院「大使館藝術」展覽及駐海外的領事官邸。最近,她的作品陳列於美國駐港總領事官邸。一九八九年她被曼哈頓藝術雜誌授予「九十年代藝術家」稱號。一九九七至九九年入選極具代表性的巡迴展「亞洲傳統/現代表現1945-1970」,由新澤西州羅格斯大學芝莫利美術館主辦。二OO七年藝倡畫廊為青意在上海美術館舉辦青意五十年回顧展,之後又為藝術家舉辦了三次個展(2006、2013、2018),並於二O一八年在我們的慈善展「抱負-重要女性藝術家作品展」中以青意的油畫作為亮點之一。